Paint it or live with it? (Engine)

Qaxe

CB750 Addict
Reaction score
The ol' crankcase is lookin' sad. I can deal with a bit of grime from time to time, but
Engine is Sad 50.jpg
this isn't good. Obviously there are 2 options: 1.) Pull the engine and paint it, or 2.) Ride ugly. But I figured it was worth asking, to see if somebody had another idea.

My own opinion here; I'm not trying to convince others I'm an expert. Some of that flaking can be helped along and then try to polish what's under there. I'm in the same position but mine is far worse than yours. That's what I'm trying, anyway.
As for riding ugly, I like bikes that wear their scars. Keeping some of those on the bike is an in-your-face reminder the bike is 50+ years old. I consider it character.
What you REALLY need to consider is what you like. I've seen this question asked different ways on different forums about different things and it all boils down to your own like and dislike. I can't tell you how many "custom" paint jobs I've seen that I wouldn't pay a penny for. But I'm sure the riders loved them.
Do yourself a favor and forget about everybody else for a while. You are the one riding it, you are the one caring for it and fixing it, you are the one who looks at it the most often.

The Duplicolor engine enamel Cast Coat Aluminum paint is a very very close match to the original honda color. I use it on all my 750 cases and it seems to be very durable.

BrettP: That's some great advice there. The part about going your own way applies to more than bikes too.
Good point about allowing the bike to show some age. I'm a bit older than my bike, and I'm not going to a plastic surgeon to deal with my own blemishes.

Dirtdigger: Wait...they still make that? I just looked, and I'm pretty sure that's the same exact engine paint I was using in 2000-01. I just never got to see how well the paint aged. Glad to hear a positive vote for it.