78 CB750 First Motorcycle Project

Zippy5150

CB750 Member
Reaction score
Hey guys, new to this site, got a 1978 CB750 super sport from a Craigslist deal less than a week ago. This is my first time working on a motorcycle but so far it's going well so that's nice.

Here it is when I first got it:
Image1464756325.271259.jpg
Image1464756369.640284.jpg

A couple of progress pics:
Image1464756445.393852.jpg
Image1464756518.746048.jpgImage1464756559.191452.jpgImage1464756589.805348.jpg

And here it is in its current state:
Image1464756667.322064.jpgImage1464756694.757267.jpg

I think it's coming along nicely. I don't have as much time as I would like to work on it because of my job but it should be ready to either get sandblasted this weekend or get tearing into the engine, I haven't decided which yet. For the final look I want to go with a rugged but clean cafe-racer/bobber.

One thing I am going to do and am really excited for is painting the gas tank black with a thick off-White stripe and this off-White emblem Image1464756997.728116.jpg intersecting the stripe like so: Image1464757065.069776.jpg and then I'm going to cover it in matte-clear.

One question I have is would it be alright to shave off the attachments for the motorcycle-stand thing in the middle (not sure what its technical name is) and make it a smooth bar or would that maybe weaken it for something that won't even be seen?
Image1464757299.878132.jpg

It is ok to remove the center stand brackets. Get a factory manul and do some research before you tear into the motor. They are fairly simple but there are a couple of things that will get you into trouble if you dont know about the 750 internals.

Excessive heat is what could weaken the frame so....

Don't use heat to remove the brackets AKA a torch or *grinder, cut them off with a sawzall or hack saw. Then do the final grinding a little at a time letting the spot air cool (do not use water) between grinds.