• Enter the April CB750 Supply gift certificate giveaway! It's easy... Click here, post something, and you're entered into the drawing!

Rivet link cam chains.

ScottishBadger

CB750 Member
Reaction score
Hi folks. Just bought a 1985 ('82 model, not registered until '85) CB750F. Rode home ok, but with a bit of "tinkling" from the cam chains. Both tensioners at max adjustment, A-chain still not tensioned and stretched to the point that it can be lifted on the sprocket!
I've ordered new chains (tensioners seem fine, no damage visible and flexing nicely) but I'm going for a rivet-link A-chain purely to avoid a full engine stripdown at this time. I know many frown upon this, but chains are riveted together anyway, so as long as the rivet is formed correctly, what's the issue? Has anyone done this themselves, that can offer any pearls of wisdom? I should add, I'm an aircraft engineer by trade, so I'm not shy of tools. Cheers.

I did it in my 1980 K. I bought a K&L cam chain, split it with a chain tool, fastened it to the old chain with a small bent nail, and rotated the crank until the old one was completely out. Then I put the new one back together with one of the master links they also sell. Used a proper riveting tool to peen the ends of the pins and measured them with calipers against their factory peers until they were very close to the same width.
I ordered two master links because I wanted to practice on the first one, and ended up needing them both because I made the first rivets too tight and it was binding. Second time I got it right, with good mushroomed heads and free chain movement. There was no more side play and no less mobility in that link than any other part of the chain which I believe means I "nailed it."