Engine VIN restamped, BUT DOESNT MATCH my F2?!?

CR92

CB750 Member
Reaction score
Put a post up here 2 days ago with some confusion over VINs on my CB750
I have an F2 supersport, so I'm lead to believe. Frame VIN CB750G101 etc
However, the only thing that doesn't match is the crankcase engine VIN
RC01E201...
From what I have researched this is not an F2
And the stamp has clearly been ground out, restapmed, pretty poorly, with a VIN that doesn't match the F2 frame

I'm new to CB's and wish I knew what was going on but that's why I posted here, need some knowledge from someone who might know or have dealt with a similar issue
After market parts? Different crankcase? Please tell me not different engine
The cylinder head, cover is SOHC so please tell me why the bottom half doesn't match.

Or does it and am I just being a dumbass

Cheers

Conor

IMG_2458.jpg

Hope this works dirtdigger, apologies for picture quality

Cheers

Attachments

• IMG_2457.jpg
    IMG_2457.jpg
    233.7 KB · Views: 132
Amc49, is there anything different about the K and F crankcases? Or can they be interchanged and hopefully solve why I have a K stamp, because I don't have any other parts on this engine that make it DOHC or not to my knowledge anyway, it's all SOHC

So this is a sohc bike or a dohc bike? If its sohc then yes there are differences between the k and f but that is not a sohc motor stamping. Can you post some pictures of the bike and motor so we can figure out what you have? I am confused right now.

IMG_2353.JPGIMG_2351.jpg
So here she is, F2 supersport (I hope) from the first post I said the frame number was cb750g** so this matches up with the F2, right?
And yeah, the engine VIN has just thrown me off, but you can clearly see it has been grounded, and restamped, it doesn't look original cast

The motor is definitely a SOHC, the VIN pad for DOHC is past the right end of starter and between starter and clutch, the SOHC pad is behind starter between it and the drive sprocket.