• Enter the April CB750 Supply gift certificate giveaway! It's easy... Click here, post something, and you're entered into the drawing!

Carb rich no matter what

sdew99

CB750 Enthusiast
Reaction score
Gonna throw this out here once more. 79 cb750k, carb #4 running rich no matter what I do. What else could make the carb rich other than:
-dirty air filter/restricted air
-improperly float height
-float valve not seating/sealing correctly
-pilot screw out too far
-air passages clogged
-worn needle
I have checked all these things and am grasping at straws at this point. I am
99.9% sure it's not spark and my leakdown test on that cylinder was 7% leakage so I can't imagine it being oil that fouling the plug.

Attachments

• 20240104_092404.jpg
    20240104_092404.jpg
    403.8 KB · Views: 19
  • 20240124_192316.jpg
    20240124_192316.jpg
    617.3 KB · Views: 14
Maybe the choke mechanism on that carb is messed up. I have no experience fixing that part of the carb but hopefully someone who does will come in.

You could still have flooding. Are you sure the needle and seat are perfect? If you have a new needle it can still leak if the seat is not right.

You could still have flooding. Are you sure the needle and seat are perfect? If you have a new needle it can still leak if the seat is not right.
I mean.. I have tested the needle and when the needle is closed, no fuel is coming past the seat. I would say the seat could probably polished but if it's not allowing gas by when closed, then it must be doing it's job?

Loose Chain, do you know of a way to verify the choke is working properly on a single carb while it is on the bike? I can't think of any. Coincidentally, that air cut off on carb 4 could be enrichening the mixture too if the diaphragm has holes.