• Enter the May CB750 Supply gift certificate giveaway! It's easy... Click here, post something, and you're entered into the drawing!

Frames

KaiC

CB750 Member
Reaction score
I bought 2 bikes for $400. One is a 1981 CB750C, complete and almost ready to go, the other is a 1982 CB750C and is in pieces. The bike was in a collision and the frame was bent. I have most of the parts I need to put together a second bike but I am missing the frame and front forks. I am a mechanic, but this is my first motorcycle, and I have never had a dirt bike, quad or anything like that so please bare with me as my knowledge is somewhat limited.

Do I have to find a frame for that specific year and style of bike, or can I use the frame from a different model. I have the 750 inline 4 engine and need something that the engine and trani will bolt on to without to much trouble. Any suggestions?

First question would be why you're not taking parts off one to make at least ONE complete running bike? Or, what is the infatuation with TWO of them?

In answer to question, you will find more than one frame to fit the engine/trans, but only one type to fit the exact model, the fuel tank bungs, side cover holes and other things are matched to that one bike. The frames start out as basic common ones pretty much but then additional welded on pieces and fittings customize the frame to then work on one model only. Such as a C frame only working on C bikes, or F frame ditto or K frame ditto, etc. The frames change up to fit the different tanks, side covers, seats and other detail pieces for that specific model.