• Enter the April CB750 Supply gift certificate giveaway! It's easy... Click here, post something, and you're entered into the drawing!

Velocity stacks?!?

AdamSanders

CB750 New member
Reaction score
So, there's countless threads on filter pods and how they don't work right, you have to adjust the carbs over and over and over to get them to work, etc etc.

My question is, what about velocity stacks?

i think they look cooler and don't cost that much more....

Here's the nicest and only ones I've found:
http://www.dimecitycycles.com/vinta...ck-cb750-dohc-carbs-pft-sd-cb750dohc-pft.html

Its expected that i will run into similiar issues as with the pods, wind issues etc etc. But does anyone on here have experience with the DOHC cb750 + velocity stacks?

Thanks.

I'm no expert, but I'll tell you what was told to me and what I've found through my research. The DOHC Hondas of this era have CV carbs- ones where the throttle needle position is controlled by the amount of vacumn in the carb. This is opposed to the older mechanical slide throttle of the older carburetors. Apparently, the cv carbs are even more finicky to run without a stock airbox and filter than the slide type. You'll be constantly fiddling with it if you go with either pods or velocity stacks. The big differences between the pods and stacks are that, for one, pods add filtration to the intake so you have less worry about dust and debris and water getting into your carbs. The other difference is the way in which air is shaped and directed into the carbs. For pods the air is more turbulent because of their shape and because of the built in filter. Velocity stacks on the other hand direct air in a more uniform way so that you get more consistent performance out of the ignition. The drawback being less life for the cdarbs and engine because of the dust, and the fact that riding in the rain is out of the question. Either solution is not as ideal as using the stock airbox, especially with CV carbs. The stock a