• Enter the April CB750 Supply gift certificate giveaway! It's easy... Click here, post something, and you're entered into the drawing!

Low compression from sitting

Qaxe

CB750 Addict
Reaction score
I have heard and read that when a motorcycle has sat for years then you can have low compression.
My CB750K6 sat for at least a decade before I got it. Honestly, it's taken me longer than expected to get it back to being rideable, so I haven't ridden it all that much myself. Naturally I keep the gas and oil fresh, my battery is new this summer, but it's not like I'm going touring or even using it for transportation.

My question is, once a bike has low compression from sitting, is that it? To fix it do I need to get into changing rings? Will any amount of compression come back by riding regularly? Or is it like teeth...once they're bad, they're bad? Mine 125-120-120-125

Seems like a stupid question, but I only know what I know. lol

I'm no expert on cylinders but I do know car engines that sit can be brought back around. The rings can sometimes be stuck, or stubborn, but letting them idle and driving them brings them back to life.

Good even compression across the cylinders. Run some Transmission fluid in the gas will help clean up the rings / cylinders.

How many miles on the engine???

I used marvel mystery oil in my fuel when I first got it. Then Berrymans fuel system cleaner.

Hey guys. Hope you're having a good one.
BrettP: Did you wait one tank between the MMO and BFSC or are we talkin' the following season?
Biebs: Tranny fluid? Wow. I need to get out more. Mileage is a big fat "maybe" 11k.

it may get better it may not. The engine will run with the compression you have....is it ideal.....no but it is good enough that it will take a tune up and run decent. I would guess your engine is tired though

Hey guys. Hope you're having a good one.
BrettP: Did you wait one tank between the MMO and BFSC or are we talkin' the following season?