• Enter the April CB750 Supply gift certificate giveaway! It's easy... Click here, post something, and you're entered into the drawing!

Help: I'm about to throw my beloved bike off a cliff

Tstameisen

CB750 Member
Reaction score
My bike went from running perfectly fine one day, to hardly at all the next. It appeared cylinders 1&4 weren't firing (conclusion based on feeling the headers) and the bike was really bogged down. Considering the only link between those cylinders is with the coil, I installed a PAMCO (ultimate) ignition kit. So now everything is brand new between the spark plugs through the replacement of the points system. (It is supposed to increase fuel efficiency by 15% and make the motor more efficient in general). BUT, now I can't even get my engine to start. I checked the spark for cylinder 1 against the block and got a spark. This bike means the world to me and I'm about to give up on it. Any help would be awesome. BTW, I'm not a mechanic with every tool in the book, just keep that in mind. Thanks
PAMCO cb750.jpgCb750.jpg

My guess is you have the ignition coils swapped. try putting the 1-4 wires on the 2-3 and vice versa. Or you can swap the primary wires going to the coils.

Considering the only link between those cylinders is with the coil

AND the points, AND the condenser, AND the wiring between the points and the coils...

BTW, I'm not a mechanic

All the more reason to figure out what the problem is before throwing parts at it willy-nilly. Replacement of the entire ignition system by a "non-mechanic", or by anyone else for that matter, has introduced a whole new set of potential variables. Was the new ignition installed correctly? How do you know? What other tests have you done? Did you check for spark on the other four cylinders? Have you at least static timed the new ignition?