• Enter the April CB750 Supply gift certificate giveaway! It's easy... Click here, post something, and you're entered into the drawing!

2003 Project Bike - Log with lots of questions.

TwelveGaugeSage

CB750 Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone!

I've been riding motorcycles for a bit over 20 years. I took a correspondence course on motorcycle repair shortly after getting my first bike all those years ago. I've done most of my own work through the years, but have started getting into it more recently. I bought a '78 Goldwing last month and enjoyed working on it and bringing it back to life. Then this weekend I bought an 03 Nighthawk for $150 as my next project as I am wrapping up the Oldwing. It sat in a garage for the last 7 years. It is going to need a lot to get it going, but my question is, where would you start? Should I go straight to taking the carbs off and cleaning the whole fuel system?

Any and all advice appreciated.

Attachments

• 20230806_184836.jpg
    20230806_184836.jpg
    335.5 KB · Views: 52
  • 20230806_184844.jpg
    20230806_184844.jpg
    318.5 KB · Views: 46
  • 20230806_184851.jpg
    20230806_184851.jpg
    345 KB · Views: 48
Yes. I always start at the fuel system. You can diagnose other issues after getting it running, even if for a second. Cleaning carbs and fuel lines, fuel filters, etc. will then lead you to checking for spark and air. After that, oil and filter change, check brakes, then drive system (shaft, chain, etc.), then whatever else you find.
Good luck!

Worry about the carb's internals for now. All jets clean, air passageways clear, fuel passageways unobstructed, bowls clean, overflow pipes in the bowls aren't cracked, throttle operation, choke operation, vacuum lines (if any) aren't cracked, accelerator pumps act correctly. I'm sure there is more. Long story short, open everything and inspect. Lol

sorry to see you live in twoshits.
The 78 glodwing is a great bike.