• Enter the April CB750 Supply gift certificate giveaway! It's easy... Click here, post something, and you're entered into the drawing!

What Tires are compatible?

lnuhring

CB750 New member
Reaction score
I am new to vintage CB's and I have a question regarding tire compatibility.

I have a 1979 Honda CB750k

The manual lists the tire sizes as the following:

Front Tire--3.50H19
Rear Tire--4.25H18

I would like to mount a pair of Shinko 270 tires.

The closest sizes that the Shinko 270 tire come in are as follows:

Front Tire--4.00x19
Rear Tire--4.50x18

I assume that these Shinko Tire sizes are compatible, as they are very close to the stock sizes, but I wanted to learn more about your thoughts on compatibility before ordering!

Thank you in advance!

The very early ones came more likely with 3.25 X 19 and 4.25 X 18, the wheels were 2.15 wide. The wheels got slightly wider later to 2.50 to then go to those sizes you mention.

With the 4 on the front you may rub OEM fender. The early forks were much narrower between the legs than later ones which widened along with the tire sizes and wheels.

You are going for a certain look there and yours to do with it what you will but be advised that a lot of people complain about how those type tires handle on grooved pavement, the bike is all over the place hunting. The tire tread grooving is too narrow to act like straight lines and then the grooves lock in road surface grooving to be very snaky as far as the handling goes. A guy a little while back was complaining about that exact tire you mention doing it. That particular tread design is from the 1930s and 700 lb. motorcycles that never leaned over hardly at all. Rain grooved pavement did not exist back then either.