• Enter the April CB750 Supply gift certificate giveaway! It's easy... Click here, post something, and you're entered into the drawing!

New to custom builds

Builder1988

CB750 Member
Reaction score
Hey guys I am new to custom builds so thought I’d join a forum for help when I get stuck because I know I fucking will 😂 Iv got a cb750 f2 1997 and someone’s had a good go at turning it into a cafe racer but the finish is shoddy, so I’m going to go right back to the frame and build her up again with my own stamp on her. What is the crack with forums? Can I just post a question and people will try and answer it on here? Thanks 👍🏻

Thanks jpdevol! Ok so I am going to strip her down this week and I want to start sourcing the forks, whoever has done this before has notched out the top yolk so there is more scope to turn the bars! As far as I can see the tank is original so these forks must not be, am I right saying that? The offset on the yolks look to be 45mm so I’m a little confused as to why and how? (The turning circle is still shit even with these notched out) Which leads me onto a second question.. I see the gsxr forks are quite a common conversion, has anyone done this before? if not is there a simpler fork that fits the CBs that I can look into? Thanks guys 👍🏻

Attachments

• 6711E015-599D-4A07-AF86-5A86B374F8E5.jpeg
    6711E015-599D-4A07-AF86-5A86B374F8E5.jpeg
    261.5 KB · Views: 65
Arh yes I came across these guys lastnight funnily enough! They do a stem that presses out don’t they? an USD fork would look amazing and an old set of gsxr forks aren’t that expensive sort of £300 which I thought was fair. although from your knowledge would I run into problems further down the line like wheel size, having to purchase new callipers, discs, axles the whole shebang in order for these to work pal?

I did use calipers for the USD forks and laced a conversion hub from Cognito to a 17" rim
20230106_171841.jpg