• Enter the April CB750 Supply gift certificate giveaway! It's easy... Click here, post something, and you're entered into the drawing!

New member - long-time 750 SOHC fan

Bagger John

CB750 Member
Reaction score
This post might get a little long, so apologies beforehand:

August of this year marks 52 seasons in the saddle; over 40 on street bikes. About a year and a half into the street bike phase, my first 750 SOHC (a '70) came to reside in my garage. It was in need of some work, and being a fledgling mechanic I began to teach myself all the tips and tricks associated with the bike.

A year later, a '75 showed up - bought from a friend. I combined parts from the two along with a Wiseco 836 kit to build FrankenBike. It had a loud 4-1 collector setup that was always getting banged on something due to low clearance. Think of the Honda version of a Norton HiRider and you'd be pretty close.

Fast forward a couple of years and I was introduced to a gent who had a whole garage full of SOHC parts and a couple bikes themselves. I helped him get a '78 running and in turn was given trunk full after trunk full of parts. Among these were better ignition systems. carbs, chrome goodies...and a Windjammer. The latter was a turning point in my riding adventures because until then, I did not ride with a windshield of any sort. A swap of a swap-meet-purchased Harley FX saddle for a set of Shoei SB-2s at an area shop added luggage capacity and gave rise to my "handle".