• Enter the March CB750 Supply gift certificate giveaway! It's easy... Click here, post something, and you're entered into the drawing!

Hi from Sweden...

JakeGrafton

CB750 Enthusiast
Reaction score
Hello all Honda café racers!

I'm new here and thought I'd make a short intro and also post a question. (Turned out not so short. Sorry 'bout that!)

I've been a sports bike driver for most of my life. Started long ago with a Harley Sportster (no sport bike, I know that), but soon got tired of beeing overtaken by all fast rice burners. So got a Kawasaki ZZR 1100. Great for straight (and fast) roads, but lacked agility. Sold it and got myself a Yamaha YZF 750 which was a really sweet ride on which I took my road racing license. It also was the bike on which I first lost my drivers license for a couple of months, due to speeding. And that made me "downgrade" to a 1996 Triumph Speed Triple. A brutal street machine (by 1996 standards) and soooo beautiful in all black. And when Triumph introduced the T595 I was back in the fast lane. A beautiful bike in a yellow paint so smooth and glossy it looked all wet... Then came a few years without riding, but finally the itch got too bad and I got myself a lovely Ducati Sport 1000. Kinda café racing style and a great bike. But once in the Ducati family, a REAL superbike was irresistible and when I found a mint cond' Ducati 996R I pulled the trigger. It's by all means the best sport bike I ever rode.

Then came a few more years on 4 wheels when this spring I fell in love with a Harley Fat Boy that I'm now enjoying to the fullest. Getting this beautiful classic I thought my sport bike days were for ever over. But... I'm now starting to think 'bout maybe - just maybeeee - building myself a nice little café racer. I think that's one of the "truest" forms of bike you can see. And studying the subject a little, the Honda CB 750 seem to be a nice place to start. And here comes - finally, if you made it this far - my question: