• Enter the April CB750 Supply gift certificate giveaway! It's easy... Click here, post something, and you're entered into the drawing!

Help. 1978 CB750k not starting

ratgoblin

CB750 New member
Reaction score
This is my first bike and I'm trying to fix it up so it'll run. I personally haven't worked on bikes or anything before but am being talked through a lot by my brother whos a mechanic and done this a few times just not with a CB. Yesterday it was starting with choke and idling with choke but wouldn't idle without it. We figured out one sparkplug was foul'd and I ended up replacing all of them but now the bike won't start at all. You can hear it trying to start up but it doesn't ignite I think. Again I am VERY new to this so any advice would be appreciated.

(My brother would help more but we live in different states)

New points? Old points?, checked point gap? if old have you cleaned then adjusted? Check timing? How is the engine....is compression good? If engine isnt healthy it will never run well. you need to start with basic engine tune up first, more than likely the carbs need to be cleaned well. The idle jet is the first one to get plugged and easily done with todays gas.

New points? Old points?, checked point gap? if old have you cleaned then adjusted? Check timing? How is the engine....is compression good? If engine isnt healthy it will never run well. you need to start with basic engine tune up first, more than likely the carbs need to be cleaned well. The idle jet is the first one to get plugged and easily done with todays gas.