• Enter the March CB750 Supply gift certificate giveaway! It's easy... Click here, post something, and you're entered into the drawing!

everything was fine, until i smelled fuel

lkstk

CB750 Enthusiast
Reaction score
let me start by stating that i am a novice at motorcycle maintenance, and i am trying to learn more as i do it all. i removed the carbs on my 76 Cb750F super sport to clean them and install new jets and gasket. after installing the finished product, i opened the fuel valve and fuel started leaking out. i found the source at carb #2 coming from a brass fitting identified by the red arrow in the picture below. it sounds an awful lot like the carbs are coming back off, but can anyone tell me what this is, and what i may have done wrong? it is only leaking from the one carb, so hopefully it will be an easy fix. or an excuse to buy a set of CR29's! any help would be greatly appreciated.

photo.jpg

let me start by stating that i am a novice at motorcycle maintenance, and i am trying to learn more as i do it all. i removed the carbs on my 76 Cb750F super sport to clean them and install new jets and gasket. after installing the finished product, i opened the fuel valve and fuel started leaking out. i found the source at carb #2 coming from a brass fitting identified by the red arrow in the picture below. it sounds an awful lot like the carbs are coming back off, but can anyone tell me what this is, and what i may have done wrong? it is only leaking from the one carb, so hopefully it will be an easy fix. or an excuse to buy a set of CR29's! any help would be greatly appreciated.

View attachment 2623

That is an air vent for the needle jet emulsion tube. (The other one is for the mix screw/slow jet circuit.)

If fuel is coming out of it you have at the very least a malfunctioning float valve AND a clogged overflow.

Just because it's an easy fix is no reason to pass on the CR29's. LOL.