• Enter the April CB750 Supply gift certificate giveaway! It's easy... Click here, post something, and you're entered into the drawing!

Not Starting

TLAndrews

TLAndrews
Reaction score
Hi all, I have a 1981 CB750c, that I recently got. I think it is largely stock, no major alterations that I can identify. The problem I'm having is that when I turn the key I have lights and power to the bike but it won't start. I push the ignition button and the headlight dims a little but nothing else happens. I'm a newb but I guess this indicates the starter button works so it must be the wiring downstream or the starter itself. I pulled off the starter solenoid and some of it's cables and everything looks pretty gnarly so I'm ordering a replacement because I figure I will need it at some point even if this isn't the fix I need right now. I will update once I get the new part installed. Does anyone have suggestions on videos/resources on electrical and starter issues? Suggestions on what I may need to do next or if I'm thinking in the wrong direction? Thanks!

An old battery can light up everything to seem to work but not the starter, it pulls 10X the amps the other things do. Battery 12.2 volt or under and it's dead. The tenths there count. A good battery is from 12.8 to maybe 12.3 then trouble lower than that.

My battery is actually new. I've been riding with it for a month and checked it with my multimeter and it has been consistently working. I can try putting it on the charger I got just in case but even using a weak battery (like the one that came with the bike when I bought it) I could squeeze out a weak start, whereas, this is nothing at all. I should also clarify that this scenario of not starting happened once previously but then it miraculously started right up after it sat for a half hour completely turned off, I rode it home, and the next day it wouldn't start again and hasn't started since.