• Enter the March CB750 Supply gift certificate giveaway! It's easy... Click here, post something, and you're entered into the drawing!

Carb Leaking -- New to Vintage Bikes

lnuhring

CB750 New member
Reaction score
New member here!

I recently acquired a 1979 cb750k on the local classifieds--not running, but otherwise in great condition with 12k miles on the odometer. I have no experience with older motorcycles, particularily carbs.

The throttle was "stuck" and I discovered (after pulling the carbs out) that the outermost clutch side carb's butterfly valve was seized up (this was why the throttle was stuck).

I was unable to get it unseized and so I bought a stripped outermost clutch side carb on ebay. The "new" stripped ebay carb is off of 1980-1983 cb750k, and did not incude the float bowl.

I assemebled the carb bank with the new ebay carb and installed all new parts.

The good news: I got the bike running for the first time in a few decades.

The bad news: the carb that I replaced is now leaking a steady stream of fuel from the overflow tube.

I have tried a number of combinations of differnet valve needles. I currently have the 1980-1983 valve needle installed in the car (the kind with no metal wire on it). I currently have 1979 float installed and I have played with adjusting the float height as well. All with no success.... the carb continues to leak.

Can anyone point me in the right direction?

I suspect that maybe the issue is the combination of the 1980-1983 carb and a 1979 float bowl and/or float?

Any help is appreciated!

Thank you!

Hi there and welcome.
If it’s leaking out the drain tube then it sounds like the bowl drain screw is not doing it’s job. There is an oring on it.

Hi there and welcome.
If it’s leaking out the drain tube then it sounds like the bowl drain screw is not doing it’s job. There is an oring on it.