• Enter the March CB750 Supply gift certificate giveaway! It's easy... Click here, post something, and you're entered into the drawing!

Carbs spitting out fuel from intake when cranking over

DoorBuster2

CB750 Member
Reaction score
Title basically says it all; I've been rebuilding my 1978 CB750A for the past three months, and I think it's finally in a shape to run. I rebuilt the carbs with the carb rebuild kits, and cleaned everything, and replaced all screws. I put it in, hopeful it would start, and as it was cranking over with choke fuel started to spit out of the carb intakes. Without choke, it doesn't spray as much, but with the choke or throttle fully opened it sprays a ton of fuel (fuel comes out where the airbox connects).

I don't think its a stuck fuel pin or float because the day prior I had reset the float to its correct height (something like 0.571 for the A model) and made sure everything was moving.

Any thoughts on what could be wrong?

*** I did submit this to another fourm, and then found this one instead that deals with SOHC 1978's in particular. Sorry about double posting

I'm 99.9% sure I did it right when I rebuilt it. I've been watching hackaweek and Peter Anderson for the rebuild process, and followed everything to a T. Could it be that the carbs are over flowing with fuel and leaking out the top into the main body?

Well of course it could be all 4 doing it is pretty odd.

HAS to be floats or something close associated if so.

So I just pulled the carbs out, had a little drainage bucket underneath and filled them up with fuel, to the point where should've overflown had they not been functioning properly. However, everything was fine with no leaking out the top, and the floats seamed to be hold the fuel.

I mentioned ethanol use in another post to you over this. If you simply move the rack around to knock the sticking needles loose they will appear to work perfect like you just found out. Until they sit long enough to then stick again.