• Enter the March CB750 Supply gift certificate giveaway! It's easy... Click here, post something, and you're entered into the drawing!

Crudiest mess Ive ever seen

JBW5

CB750 Member
Reaction score
Just broke into my 78 cb750s carbs and they are crusty and nasty! What is the best way to thoroughly clean these bad boys? What are yalls thoughts on rebuild kits? There seems to be mixed feelings on this! This is my first motorcycle so I am new to this world. I know I need new rubber but what about the brass parts? Thanks!

I think the best way to clean them is to buy the set I just posted on ebay, and work on other things. mine are clean and ready to run. sell yours to the next guy let him fight with gunk.

nope it don't. several hours work and most of them can be used. which is my point. the value of his good but gunked set subtracted from my nice clean ones, is less money then 3-4 hours work taken away from other things on the bike. And god knows whats in those idle passages.

Cyclebuster, what are you asking just curious? I'm cheap myself but I dug into these things tonight and they are crusty white? The holes seem to be clear and I have rn the bike with them in this condition but it was rough. I have never seen a caeb that looks like this? What is this gunk and can it be reversed? Thanks!

not in my experience. the aluminum is corroded from water. usually they fall apart. all aluminum turns white, but it gets really bad and there is no hope. usually the float pins bust off, but the first sign is usually all the float bowls will get pinholes. sets with "need cleaned" and no picture of the inside. those are generally in the $70-100 dollar range, and you gained nothing. super nice sets run into $2-300 plus shipping. I am asking $150 shipped to your door. Mine will drop on and run. The man I got these from paid $150 last year for them.
http://www.ebay.com/itm/151012220139?ssPageName=STRK:MESELX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1555.l2649

I can do these for $125 off ebay