• Enter the March CB750 Supply gift certificate giveaway! It's easy... Click here, post something, and you're entered into the drawing!

She bangs.. :(

Lasper01

CB750 Member
Reaction score
Hello! I need help! My father's CB 750C has difficulties taking the gas.. It wont rev properly.. sputters and bangs .. Is it false air? Must we clean the carburetor?
Ignition is pretty good, new coils and the timing is set OK.. but there is oil at the pulser generator coils.. should there be oil?

We tried to videofilm it, so you could get a feel for it ..
The night before with would rev up to 6000 pretty fast when we did the timing, but when we went for a ride it almost wouldn't rev.. but if we drove carefully and low rpm it was OK .. And the next day it sounded so awful.. like something is hitting something inside the motor..

Sorry for bad explanation.. Im not that good at english, but I hope you get the picture.. :)

We would be glad for your help! Thanks!!

Lasse and Leif (dad)

what is the bikes history? how many miles ,how long have you had it , was it stored ,when did it run last. I am not familiar with this noise its making .damn thing sounds like a tractor .If the bike has not run for some time there are plenty of things you should check . First thing I did when I got mine was clean and rebuild the carbs ,check valve clearance ,cam chain tension,check for cracked rubbers to the carbs etc etc im sure one of the more experienced gents here could give you a complete check list .Maybe even recognize the problem from the video.Good luck and welcome to CB750.com Guys :)

He have had for some years now, but it hasn't been running good for a while.. We found out that the ignition coils were bad so we replaced them the day before the video. That night as I wrote it didn't sound like that tractor..
But you are properly right.. we should check those other things.. Do you know about the oil at the generator pulser coils?