• Enter the March CB750 Supply gift certificate giveaway! It's easy... Click here, post something, and you're entered into the drawing!

Questions for cafe build

jimminy

CB750 Enthusiast
Reaction score
I'm getting close to pulling the trigger on some parts and get going on the mods. This post is going to be my big Q&A and I know this community collectively has all the answers. Mine is a '78 SOHC CB750K in decent shape overall, nothing special, but I love her dearly.
IMG_0712.jpg

This is my first build so I'm using a lot of ideas from bikes I've seen done by pros and I'm going to try to emulate them as best I can and use their builds to ask questions and figure out how to get similar results. I need to pull the engine first to get it worked on, but I want to start ordering parts while that's happening and do whatever I can with the engine out.
IMG_0713.JPGSalekCB750.jpg

At this point it's all planning and I'm looking for people's experience doing this stuff, the best place to find a part, whether or not the part I picked will work or not, whether it's just a bad idea, pitfalls, something I'm forgetting, etc.

Here are the major mods:

1. Pull the tank and repaint. Probably I'll repaint the plastic side covers at the same time.
2. Replace or rebuild the petcock, it leaks. Cheap enough to just buy new I think unless someone knows better. Good Supplier for that?
3. Remove all gauges and replace with new, maybe just a speedo with LEDs-> http://www.newmotorcycleparts.com/controls/gauges.html -the black face with LED indicators. 2240:60 ratio. Would love to spend less $$ on this thing though, seems pricey.
4. Replacing all turn indicators with mini bullets. Found these-> http://www.harrisonspecialties.com/mm5/merchant.mvc?Screen=CTGY&Store_Code=HS&Category_Code=MiniB -Very cool