• Enter the March CB750 Supply gift certificate giveaway! It's easy... Click here, post something, and you're entered into the drawing!

F Head on a K2 Engine

Jeff K2

CB750 Member
Reaction score
I am new to the world of SOHC 750, so please hold off on the laughter.

I have inherited a bunch of SOHC stuff that was originally modified to 65mm bore and used on 3/4 Midget cars.

I have also picked up a couple K model bikes. The first is a K2 that I have pulled the motor and removed the top end. My goal is to put the 65mm piston/cyl set in it. I have 2 F heads that have been ported and the chambers opened to allow the pistons to make the proper compression ratios (CB 350 + 1.00mm pistons that have been relieved for valves and coned). I also have 2 K heads that are in the same state of machining. I would like to use the F heads for the bigger valves in conjunction with my aftermarket cams to allow better flow.

My question is; Can I use the F heads on the K engines. If so, what do I need do to avert problems?

Thanks in advance,

Jeff K2

Yes the f will bolt on the k motor but the f head has a bigger combustion chamber than the k. They make f pistons because of the increase in chamber volume. All things being equal if you put an f head on a k you will reduce compression.

Yes the f will bolt on the k motor but the f head has a bigger combustion chamber than the k. They make f pistons because of the increase in chamber volume. All things being equal if you put an f head on a k you will reduce compression.

Thanks, Dirtdigger.