• Enter the March CB750 Supply gift certificate giveaway! It's easy... Click here, post something, and you're entered into the drawing!

First Ride, first trouble need help badly

docholiday

CB750 Member
Reaction score
I have an 80 super sport that I have been converting to cafe racer for almost 2 years now... I have not really taken her for a long drive until yesterday... While cruising at around 3000 rpm there was a "pffft" sound, like a misfire, then the engine died.. I tried to start her again but sounded like there was no compression. I got the bike 2 years ago and PO said the engine had some work done on it and I have talked to the mechanic who did the "work" and said he just replaced the journal bearings and nothing else... I had the carbs rebuilt and syncronized a couple of months back as well as replaced the intake manifolds. I was planning to have the timing chain tension adjusted as well as have the valve clearance checked then this happened.... It is hard to find mechanics over here who are knowledgeable on cb750.... I am going to bring the bike to a local mechanic to have it checked tom. Any advise on what to look for and what to do?? is a full rebuild advisable? parts are hard to find here let alone cost...so I hope we can fix it with as little cost as possible.. Thank you for any help..

A "pfft" sound, died, no compression - head gasket, stripped spark plug hole? That's only a guess because there's not a lot of information to go on.

If you don't have the means to do a compression check yourself, your pretty much at the mercy of those mechanics you mention.

He said "he just replaced the journal bearings and nothing else"? That's pretty odd.

You'd have to tear the whole engine apart to change the crank bearings (I assume that's what was meant) why would you not do "anything else"?

I had my engine checked... the timing chain broke.... Does this means that I need an engine overhaul? what needs to be replaced other than the timing chain?