• Enter the March CB750 Supply gift certificate giveaway! It's easy... Click here, post something, and you're entered into the drawing!

Question before I buy

eddas

CB750 New member
Reaction score
Hi all.

I've come for some input before I make this purchase.

I found a local fellow that is selling a 1982 CB750, that cosmetically looks to be in excellent shape.

The price is great, and I am looking for a project, I just want to know if I'm biting off more than I can chew.

This bike has been parked in a garage for the past decade. Hasn't been started in that long as well. So it does not start.

From a brief phone conversation with the current owner, I know the following:
The carbs need rebuilt. The throttle cable is stuck so needs replaced or lots of TLC and oil.
The gas tank had some fuel in it when parked, so has some interior rust that will need to be cleaned.
Needs a new battery.

A little background on my mechanical abilities:
I am not a mechanic, but I am okay with working on older vehicles.
I grew up riding dirtbikes, and spent plenty of time when I was younger (15+ years ago) rebuilding dirtbike carbs.

What else should I keep in mind, or look at before deciding to buy?

Compression test, the dohc motors are notorious for burning valves from lack of valve adjustments and they are tight from the factory. These carbs suck, they probably still wont run right after a rebuild, I've talked to old honda techs that said these things didnt run perfect from the factory, people always complaining about running issues and they could never get them perfect. I wouldnt buy if the compression isnt 150psi or better.

DD, all carbs suck :D