• Enter the March CB750 Supply gift certificate giveaway! It's easy... Click here, post something, and you're entered into the drawing!

Subjective question about pricing a SOHC CB750 late 70s

Copperwood

CB750 Member
Reaction score
Hello all,

Total noob here. Consider yourself warned;)

I've been creeping on the forum for quite some time. I have a question regarding the purchase price of a CB750 SOHC. Yes, I understand the market dictates the price, and this has a lot to do with location and timing condition and odometer. However, I just wanted to get a general idea of the price I should expect for a running CB750 that needs some TLC. I'm looking to do a cafe conversion.

So let me pose this qustion this way before I get flamed.

I have been bidding on eBay and craigslist locally in South Florida. Most are posting a late 70's SOHC cb750 for $3000-$3500. It wasn't obvious at first, but I guess these sellers did expect a negotiation. However, none have been willing to go below $2100. Is it unrealistic to think within a few months time I can pick up a late 70's for $1500 or lower that is still running? Although I have the means to pay more, I am a price conscious person, and I am more concerned with getting a fair deal than I am with haggling a crazy deal. My review of the classified ads and responses on SOHC forums and even here lead me to believe these running cb750s that need work are worth far less than $2000.

Thanks in advance for your opinions. I fully understand this is a subjective discussion.

Remember though, Search Tempest is for Craigslist. A lot of folks won't deal with you when you talk about shipping. You can expand your search area on Ebay though. Since there are some forms of buyer protection there, that's probably the way to go.

Good luck,
Al