• Enter the March CB750 Supply gift certificate giveaway! It's easy... Click here, post something, and you're entered into the drawing!

Low charge voltage

Cbjoe82

CB750 New member
Reaction score
Im only getting 1.5 volts feed into my stator input feed wire...obviously low alt output...yes the battery is good....any ideas

Bear in mind that early DOHC can fail the rotor and it still pass the test specs, and the most common fail on them. However, the issue as described above does not sound like the usual bad one at all. The description in some error though as there are THREE stator 'feed' wires.........

In the 20+ years I was a bike mechanic, I never saw a bad rotor I couldn't diagnose with an ohm meter. I suppose it's possible but I've never seen it... Sometimes you get the symptoms of a bad rotor and it's a problem with the brushes or the slip rings on the rotor are corroded. That's one reason I always pull the alternator cover and test the rotor at the slip rings rather than at the end of the wires to the brushes... It only takes a minute to polish up the slip rings with a sanding sponge or a Sctochbright pad...

Tony

Positively the rotor, been there several times myself. Some test fine but open up or short at speed from centrifugal force, not all of the wire core is solidly glued on some of them. That means the wires can move around to abrade. I personally got stranded 200 miles from home one evening by one that ran slowly down until I was pushstarting it, then I slowed down from 70 mph to 45 and by the time I was home the battery had come back up enough to start bike again. Go back up faster riding local and the battery then runs down again. After checking all and no issues found I changed rotor alone and problem gone. As well on the DOHC sites others have reported it. I think it's worse on rotor rewinds as many of them are epoxy coated at the center and on the outside only and again the inner wire loops move around if not wound tight enough.