• Enter the March CB750 Supply gift certificate giveaway! It's easy... Click here, post something, and you're entered into the drawing!

81 CB750F Scrambler Project Help

BrusselSprouts

CB750 New member
Reaction score
Hello Everyone. I'm new to this forum and I'm looking to get some advice on how I should go about customizing my motorcycle.

I've had the bike for years now, rode it for about a year, and it now has been sitting for a while. I had always wanted to customize it and I now have the capital to begin doing so. Thusly, I am looking for some help as I have never done something like this before. I would like to turn the bike into something of a scrambler and would like to do as much of the work as possible so that I may learn about the mechanics of a motorcycle.

Some initial thoughts on what I should do:

Hiding the battery and other components. Possibly moving ignition switch:
How difficult would it be to build a new wiring harness so that this may be done.

Figuring out what can be done about the airbox besides pods:
The person that I bought the bike from put some pods on it and it never ran correctly. Could never get it over 80 on the highway. I rebuilt the carbs which actually made it run worse. Inconsistent idle and it bogged down in low revs if you gave it too much gas. Still not very fast either. The mechanic that i did the rebuild with said that it was likely because i do not have the original air box on it. It also has a vance and hines 4 into 1.

Chopping the sub-frame:
I would really like to get rid of all of the junk on the back of the bike and put a really simple seat on there with a small taillight. Where i would like to cut though looks as though it is structurally supporting the rear suspension. How much can be removed?

I would like to pull and paint the engine: