• Enter the March CB750 Supply gift certificate giveaway! It's easy... Click here, post something, and you're entered into the drawing!

Advice needed for 1980 CB750 C- Seat/exhaust

tdxanthos

CB750 New member
Reaction score
Hi all,

I have recently purchased a 1980 CB750 C with the goal of converting it to a cafe racer. I am very new to working on bikes and have run into some minor issues that I was hoping that I could get some advice on.

First, I bought a brat style seat from Dime City Cycles and after I cut the frame and positioned the seat hoop (currently only taped into place) I realized that the way that the gas tank is shaped/connected creates a space between the seat and the frame. I am thinking that there may be a way of making it work, but I wanted to see if anyone else had any recommendations. I would also be open to returning the seat and purchasing another that may fit better. There are some photos below that illustrate what I am referring to below.

Also, I purchased an aftermarket muffler that I was hoping to connect to the existing exhaust system, but the size of the 2 to 1 pipe is much larger than the size of the muffler. Would I be able to use a exhaust reducer like THIS or would I need to purchase a whole new exhaust system?

I know that these are very basic questions, but I appreciate any advice that I can get.

Thanks!

FullSizeRender.jpgIMG_3663.jpgIMG_3665.jpgIMG_3668.jpgIMG_3670.jpg

You have to make a seat fit perfectly on your own, there will be none made that exact fit. When you get rid of the OEM part you have in essence chosen to be the engineer there.

Your exhaust is worn out, look at the rust, anything you do will only make that worse. And there is no way we can tell you if those reducers work, you have to know the exact pipe sizes to do that.