• Enter the March CB750 Supply gift certificate giveaway! It's easy... Click here, post something, and you're entered into the drawing!

Need advice for installing replacement exhaust ('95 model)

peterke

CB750 Member
Reaction score
I got an un-modified pair of exhausts for the '95 NH. The ones I had on them had their mufflers removed by the original owner, and they were too loud for my liking...
So, I'm not a mechanic, but I got my hands dirty on cars and motorcycles many years ago, so I decided to do the replacement myself.

I got the old set off. The first thing I noticed was that there were no gaskets at the end of the pipes where they attach to the engine block. Weird. Thanks god I got bought a new set before even starting to work on this.

But I'm having the hardest time putting the replacement exhaust back on...

Is this supposed to be able to be done by one person??? I can't seem to fit the thing on, align it in the right place at all mounting points, hold it, and put the screws in... Or is there a specific sequence to do this?

If anyone could advice on this, that would be good. Otherwise, I have to call a few friends over :))

Did you loosen the crossover pipe connection so that the two halves can move somewhat independently of each other?

I only know your supposed to get everything in place "loosely" mounted first then tighten the header to the head 1st, then the rest.

Honda is famous for it's "this part only fits this one bike" manufacturing methods. If you mean the pipes just don't line up and you need to force one 1/4" to the left then yeah, clamps, spreaders, friends with strong hands, may be required.

Yes, I have the crossover pipe lose. It doesn't seem like there is a problem with fitting the 4 headers correctly to the engine. It's more like I can't seem to do it all by myself. I'll give it another go. Per the manual, you supposed to remove the brake-pedal. But I don't know how would that help...

Ah, I understand now.