• Enter the March CB750 Supply gift certificate giveaway! It's easy... Click here, post something, and you're entered into the drawing!

Top end rebuild question

jimminy

CB750 Enthusiast
Reaction score
Hi, I have a '78 CB750 SOHC I recently bought that is blowing smoke like crazy and I've been considering doing the top end, though I've never done it before. I'm a little worried about getting it all dismantled and getting stuck, having my bike out of commission, and having to find someone to pick up the pieces.

So, I started wondering if there is any way to go about it another way. The idea would be to find replacement parts (the whole top end if needed) without taking my bike apart, fix what needs fixing if it needs it, then remove the engine and swap what needs swappin'. In theory :), this makes sense to someone who hasn't done it before.

I would love to know if there's any way to go about doing it this way or something similar. The main thing is to make all the mistakes while still flying around recklessly on my bike like normal.

If not, I would love to know if anyone knows someone around LA who can do the work. Believe it or not, I can't find anyone willing to work on it and the dealer wants a disturbing amount of my money to do it.

Cheers!