• Enter the April CB750 Supply gift certificate giveaway! It's easy... Click here, post something, and you're entered into the drawing!

Hi from Montreal from me and my non-starting '81 CB750

The Jimbonaut

The Jimbonaut
Reaction score
Hi one and all, Jimbo here in Montreal, after 5kms of pushing I finally got this beauty into my garage -

honda-pic_zpsn7b2mbqc.jpg

Doesn't start, flat battery...this is my winter taken care of. This is my first Honda rebuild and restore, looking forward to getting started and thanks in advance for any help I get from you guys!

High fives,

-J

The bike looks great, must have been taken a good care of. Are these lowered rear shocks? Good luck!

Well, after a week (I'm no mechanic it should be said) I got her running =)

New battery, cleaned the carbs (not gonna eat your breakfast off them but good enough for starters - they'll get a rebuild later), new sparks, new gas...running like, well, not a charm, but running.

Today I ran into what may be the first snafu...following the Honda Inspection chapter in the owners manual I wanted to check the cam chain. The tensioner bolt and lock nut on the front of the engine came off way too easily and once it was out I could see some torn up metal shavings on the threads. I looked inside the hole and sure enough, the thread on the inside of the engine housing is completely stripped. Little pieces of metal in there too. That can't be good.

Any suggestions on what to do next?

Helicoil time.

Those get stripped out all the time, people just can't grasp how little torque to use on aluminum.

You the man!

Helicoil huh, learn something every day. Especially on this forum. How do they work? Do I need machining tools to insert and secure the thing?

Should I be worried about the small aluminum filings that are stuck in that hole? I tried to get as much out as I could but there's definitely still some wedged in there tight as a tick