• Enter the March CB750 Supply gift certificate giveaway! It's easy... Click here, post something, and you're entered into the drawing!

Will 1978 750k engine fit in 1976 750f frame?

gavoic92

CB750 New member
Reaction score
Hey guys, I just purchased a project bike with all the parts completely removed back to bare frame. The original motor on the bike was shot and the guy I bought it from found a nice good condition 78' 750k motor for it but he never got around to putting the bike together. I just want to know if the 1978 750k engine will fit in a 1976 750f frame? Newbie here. Sorry.

yes, all sohc 750 motors will interchange. Your only issue may be chain alignment. you may or may not have an issue. You will just have to bolt everything together and check and fix if necessary. Its easily fixed with finding and swapping correct sprockets.

yes, all sohc 750 motors will interchange. Your only issue may be chain alignment. you may or may not have an issue. You will just have to bolt everything together and check and fix if necessary. Its easily fixed with finding and swapping correct sprockets.

Thank you, I really appreciate the info. This is my first motorcycle project so I'm still new to this haha but I appreciate your response.

The 77/78 CB750's have an output shaft (front sprocket) that extends out an additional 10mm (3/8"). The 77/78 swingarm is 10mm wider to accommodate the 10mm thicker rear sprocket carrier. The left rear upper shock mount is also extended an additional 10mm outboard on the 77/78 models. You need to use the front sprocket cover from the 78' engine since it also has this additional 10mm of clearance. It's up to you as to how to address the additional 10mm of outboard alignment required at the rear wheel.