• Enter the April CB750 Supply gift certificate giveaway! It's easy... Click here, post something, and you're entered into the drawing!

Let me see what you guys think

spaz815

CB750 Enthusiast
Reaction score
OK I got to talking in another thread about what I should do with my bike. Since I didn't start the other thread I figure I'd start one and see what you guys have to say. What would you do? First let me start by saying this will be the first time I've ever worked on a bike. I'm not a mechanic. I purchased this bike 4 or 5 weeks ago. Its my first cb750. Its a 1975. The kid I purchased it from said everything is original except for the flat black paint job its got. After I bought it I was talking about the paint job to a guy at work and he said or thinks that the bike was probably a rust bucket and that's why it was painted. To hide all of the rust. I started to take some of the paint off the side covers and the front fender. After taking the black off there was white under it. Well when I got through the white I was able to get to some chrome on the fender. The little bit of paint I did take off the chrome doesn't seem all that bad. Anyway I'd like to do a small cafe make over, nothing out of hand. Small meaning do as little as possible to get a cafe look but also sort of keep the original look. The bike runs decent. Sometimes when I'm riding I get on it a little and it sputters a little. From what I have read here I think that might be the points. If you look at the pics the top of the motor there seems to be a little oil coming out. Would that just be a gasket?

2012-10-06_17-03-51_864.jpg2012-10-06_17-04-05_174.jpg2012-10-06_17-05-17_954.jpg2012-10-06_17-03-41_92.jpg