• Enter the March CB750 Supply gift certificate giveaway! It's easy... Click here, post something, and you're entered into the drawing!

Newbie here with just purchased 81' CB750

Flogger

CB750 Addict
Reaction score
Hello all, new member after just picking up my 81' CB750 Custom yesterday. Met a guy that was just tired and giving up riding so he sold her to me for 300 bucks... In pretty good shape, ride-able but rough from neglect, chrome is all perfect as is frame... Little to no rust, seat perfect... Frame is very nice... Tank has a couple of dents I will remove them with a new paint job... Nothing missing, everything works... Wanna restore original all chrome 4-4 exhaust or new 4-2. Look to make her look like she did at the showroom floor...

CB750.jpg

Wow you got a steal. My 80 cost 100 more and is not near as nice. But I'm planning sort of a rat rod/Enduro version with mine. Nice pick though!

Wow you got a steal. My 80 cost 100 more and is not near as nice. But I'm planning sort of a rat rod/Enduro version with mine. Nice pick though!

Pic of yours? Get much from this storm system that passed?

The good thus far: Cams chains are both in excellent shape; both sprockets are good; drive chain looks great; great compression tests all across...

Confirmed needed: carb job; valve work; front fork seals; brake pads and shoes, will replace fluid...

Ordered Mac 4 to 2 all chrome pipes to do with carbs... Ordered new tires- Pirelli Route w/ white lettering...

Last edited:
To save some very possible grief do the valve adjustment first, many perceived carb issues are actually the valves. And hold to a minimum of .004" and preferably .005" on valves, the book spec had lots of people burning valves or engines didn't run as well.

Compression? The spec is 170 psi.

all we got was a bunch of rain as you can see in the pic of my garage floor.