• Enter the March CB750 Supply gift certificate giveaway! It's easy... Click here, post something, and you're entered into the drawing!

removal of starter on my 1981 honda CB750C

chuck629

CB750 Member
Reaction score
I wanted to just get some advice on removing my starter motor (it is faulty) from my DOHC 1981 cb750 custom. Removal seems fairly straightforward but it appears to me that the carbs have to be removed in order to lift the starter motor out. I watched a pretty good youtube video on removing the carbs and from what I could see the starter removal should be a breeze at that point. It just seems to me that unless I do this (carb removal) I just don't have enough height to slip the starter out. But since I have not done one of these before I would be glad to hear any tips or suggestions.
Thanks from Chuck629

Chuck, Im new to this. Also having starter issues on my 82 cb750k. I removed my starter without having to remove the carbs. What prob are you having? Just a bad starter?

starter issue

Chuck, Im new to this. Also having starter issues on my 82 cb750k. I removed my starter without having to remove the carbs. What prob are you having? Just a bad starter?

as it turns out it doesn't seem to be the starter itself. My starter clutch needs to be rebuilt. I ordered the kit to do that and I will let you know how it goes. I'm kind of surprised you got the starter out without removing the carbs. On my bike it really looks like they would be in the way of that removal.
thanks chuck

What is the starter clutch doing? When I try to start my bike, it turns over for a second and then sounds like pissed off cat. I have checked all the teeth on the starter gear, the gear from the starter to the fly wheel. They are all fine. Pulled off the starter clutch and took it apart, all looks good. Im kind of lost.