• Enter the April CB750 Supply gift certificate giveaway! It's easy... Click here, post something, and you're entered into the drawing!

1981 CB-750 Cafe my first bike project

TY81

CB750 New member
Reaction score
Hey everyone, I'm new to the site and new to on-road bikes in general! I picked up this '81 CB750 the other day after doing a lot of research on café platforms and as you all know, if you research café racers the name "Honda CB***" comes up again and again. so the bike was for sale for $900 and I talked the guy down to $675.

Heres some pictures of the bike when I brought it home

20150418_154428_zpsoxax4lo8.jpg

20150418_154437_zpsbybmugjq.jpg

20150418_154448_zpsfeochzmx.jpg

So the first problem is that the engine seems to be knocking, but once again im totally new to the CB scene and im not 100% sure what the bike SHOULD sound like in the first place.... It idles pretty good once its warmed up and it shifts nicely too. the odometer reads 9128 miles but Im sure that's not correct, so I don't know exactly how many miles are on the bike.

the second problem is that when I try to start the bike it wont even attempt to engage to starter motor most of the time, so I have to sit there and keep pressing the button until it decides to work... im thinking its probably the starter solenoid that is faulty but if you guys have any ideas as to what it could be id appreciate the input!