• Enter the March CB750 Supply gift certificate giveaway! It's easy... Click here, post something, and you're entered into the drawing!

Help needed with cracked engine case

Bohnzye

CB750 Enthusiast
Reaction score
Hey fellas, I dont want to bore you with details but this bike was pretty much dropped on my lap...The same bike I have posted about in this forum.. I have a bigger problem then orange peel. My buddy evidently didn't comb over this engine?bike before he bought it and today I discovered a "chunk" of the engine casing broken off/missing from the top side over the timing cover area and its part of the block not the cover..Subsequently some deviant took RTV silicone and filled that space and then greased it/dirtied it up good enough that an untrained eye wouldn't detect it. Well I'm no mechanic and certainly would have picked up on this as it's blatenly obvious. So the question looms, Do I have to start scouting for an engine case or just ride this bike on dry days because I'm pretty sure something is gonna fry if it gets into the timing compartment? 20120809_120505.jpg20120809_120509.jpg20120809_120502.jpg20120809_120505.jpg20120809_120509.jpg20120809_120502.jpg

This is the 78 cb750 correct? If it is just in the area of the points then mechanically it doesn't need to be changed, other then getting water into the points. Looks like it is on the bottom case half mostly? Looks like it was laid down and slid across the ground. If you can seal it up good enough to keep moisture out then you can run it as is assuming it didn't crack into the engine part and starts seeping oil. Remember if you decide to replace the cases you need a matched set (upper and lower half) you can't change just an upper or a lower, they are machined from the factory to go together. At least there are a ton of cases on ebay if you decide to change them.