• Enter the March CB750 Supply gift certificate giveaway! It's easy... Click here, post something, and you're entered into the drawing!

1981 cb750f headlight doesn't turn on

visorclown

CB750 Member
Reaction score
My front headlight won't turn on. I just bought a new one hoping the old was bad, but no luck. All connections seem to be tight and proper. All turn signals work as they should. I cant figure this one out. I'm no electrical expert by any means. Is there a diagram for the electrical? Any help would be greatly appreciated as I can't get a safety inspection till I fix it! Thanks for the help.

Hey Buddy, I'm a noob here myself. Have you unplugged the plug to the headlight and put a volt meter probe on the main pin of that plug with the power on to verify power to that point? I have a 76 cb 750 f and I believe mine has a dedicated fuse for the head light.

Well, I did try that. It didn't seem to be getting any power. However, I'm not even sure I tested it properly. Electrical is not my thing i dont see any fuses around to check or replace. If you've got ideas let me know. Thanks!

Thanks for the diagram. It's easier to read than the other ones I had found. It seems that the lines in question are the blue and white that go to the dimmer switch. Is the dimmer swith the start button? This is where I'm lost.

No, dimmer switch just changes between hi and Ko beam filaments in the headllght. It's kind of hard to see and your eyes might be as bad as mine. In case you don't already know, try pressing the "control" and "+" keys at the same time to zoom in.. ("control" and "-" zoom back out).

Look straight up above the right hand horn signal... see the "BAT5" and "BAT2" and "ST" terminals. Pressing the starter button closes BAT2 to ST which closes the starter solenoid... and the bike should start. It's the Y/R wire that carries the juice to close the solenoid.