• Enter the March CB750 Supply gift certificate giveaway! It's easy... Click here, post something, and you're entered into the drawing!

newb here with power questions

coolbreeze

CB750 New member
Reaction score
Hi All
I am new to bikes and to this site (first post) ,I bought a cb750 bobbed in June 79 frame hard tailed with a 82 750f motor .

it was setup for suicide clutch and shift , that went first ,reverted back to hand clutch and foot shift , i popped in a new battery and after a little bit of persuasion i got her running !!! yippy ...

After taking it out for a few rides I noticed that it was getting harder and harder to start the bike , battery was dead , so I ran out and got a charger.

Once charged it would start no problem ,but after a few rides I would have to hook it up to the charger again , ok so this is how it's going to be :banghead:

Well, fall came around and I let her sit for a few months .. I go out to fire it up and surprisingly the battery was not dead ... well thats awesome but wtf ???

Why does my battery seem to hold a good charge but after riding it for a wile does it seem to die ?

The po told me when I got that the stator/charging system had just been replaced not to long ago ..Not that I had any idea what that was at the time or still even completely understand it ..

I want to figure it out wile I'm doing some work on it during the winter but have no idea where to start . I have no clue when it comes to electrical period .

Any and all advise would be greatly appreciated !!

thanks coolbreeze

Could be a couple of things.
1. Even if it's new, the battery could be bad. Especially if you bought a cheap battery from WalMart or AutoZone. Spending $100 or more on a good AGM Battery is worth it in my opinion. You can probably take it to any auto parts store and have them test it.