• Enter the March CB750 Supply gift certificate giveaway! It's easy... Click here, post something, and you're entered into the drawing!

Very high involuntary reving when idle!

lukenukem

CB750 Member
Reaction score
Hi there,

I am very new to the bike game and would greatly appreciate your help.

I Just purchased an 82' cb750 from a person with good credibility and bike knowledge and was told that the bike would "run like a dream" and honestly needed nothing.

The bike was shipped from Northern Ireland to the London and took a day over see in the cold. On arrival it seemed someone left the ignition on and killed the battery and there was no working brake light from front brake.

After a day of charged the battery, with the choke open fully the bike started, then died and again and again. After it was warmer I got to give it a ride for about 20 mins. What I found was that when I was going at a low speed the engine would nearly cut out unless I revved it again, this isnt what really bothers me. The main problem I am having is when I am travelling at a low speed, in neutral stationary or when I am slowing down and pulling the clutch in to stop, the engine makes a horrific sound like an extremely high revving although I am not touching the throttle. There is also smoke coming out of the engine somewhere and LOTS of backfire. Another strange thing it seems is that the bike seems to travel on its own as in wont stop accelerating so I could literally cruise at 10-20 mph for a good while without touching the throttle, I then slow down and clutch and then the horrific sound and bike firing.
My good friend had a look at the bike as he has better then average knowledge and he found that the the carbs were extremely loose and the rubbers wouldn't tighten around it. He suggested a vacuum leak and after reading up about it, it sounds like I need to replace the rubber inlets and hose clips.