• Enter the March CB750 Supply gift certificate giveaway! It's easy... Click here, post something, and you're entered into the drawing!

How to convert from an air filter to air pods?

tonupboy

CB750 Member
Reaction score
Just recently bought an 82 750k and I am also completely new to the motorcycle world , I was wondering if I need to overhaul my carbs to replace the air box with air pods?

Dont do pods with these carbs, you will never get them to run correct. Stick with the airbox.

I second Digger.
I had Pods and different jets on my bike and when I bought it.
It ran "ok", so I thought...
When I put the stock jets and air box on, it ran a 1000 times better.
More power.
More MPG's
Smother through the revs.

Guess I will weigh in here too. Messed with pods but then went back to the stock airbox. Runs better.

I third what digger said. For the most part the engineers at Honda knew what they were doing. Once you start messing with the intake or exhaust, getting the carbs dialed in right is a puzzle. If there are issues that are carb related, then rebuild/clean them.

I wouldn't bother with new carbs unless your interested turning it into some sort of hot rod. Get comfortable with basic maintenance first before you jump into mods.

Steeldragon does quality work, but that airbox is no where near as restrictive as the stock airbox. That one is almost equal in flow to pods I think, hence you'll have the same issues as with pods..

But it sure looks great.

Considering all 4 carbs would be now in one box/filter I would think it would be a huge improvement over having separate filters on the carbs. Im going to order one this winter and give it a go and see what happens. Worst that happens is it runs the same as it does now. LoL