• Enter the March CB750 Supply gift certificate giveaway! It's easy... Click here, post something, and you're entered into the drawing!

Melted wiring and no spark

Sully

CB750 New member
Reaction score
Hello,
I am the new owner of a 77 cb750k. The bike was not running when i picked it up. I put a battery in it and changed the oil an tried to start it, and it would turn over but would not fire up. I pulled two of the plugs and checked for a spark but nothing. After further inspection i found that main wiring harness looks melted down to the two white connectors behind the left panel under the seat. I am an ok mechanic but have no electrical experience. Any advice? Should i have a pro rewire it or can i do it myself? Thanks

You can get the whole wiring harness from Vintagecb750 for 90 bucks, Just unplug and plug one terminal at a time or keep notes on the order You remove them. You should be able to pull it off, Good luck.

Thanks. After further investigation the melted wiring is isolated a bit. I think i can replace the melted wires but Im not sure what the names of a few of the parts are. I know the couplers but not the black box it goes into. The most damaged wire is the green one that goes to my ignition box i think. I have attached a few photos. Thanks again. Box 1.jpgBox 2.jpgBox 3.jpgCoupler 1.jpgCoupler 2.jpg

I might not have the best advise but now would be the time to up grade to a new solid state rectifier/regualtor.