• Enter the March CB750 Supply gift certificate giveaway! It's easy... Click here, post something, and you're entered into the drawing!

Need Help with fuel delivery

mgutows1

1972 CB750 SOHC
Reaction score
Ok so I am new to this forum and I have been searching around to see if I can find some help with my bike. I recently purchased a 1972 Honda Cb750 SOHC for $600. Lots of customs and mods. Here are the details that I am aware of:
-Accel Super Coil 140403 coil kit (NGK D8es plugs)
-Four straight drag pipes.
-Pod air filters.
-657B AMH carbs.
-new boots from carbs to engine.
I am new to building bikes and I need some help.
I just took the carbs apart and cleaned them. The first and second carbs had a little gunk in them but other than that they were not too bad. The bike will run and idle fine but whenever I take it out and ride, the bike doesn't run well at all. It keeps cutting out and kicking randomly as well as a few backfires and popping. I don't know whether this is because of fuel delivery or because of the pods. I have read that the pod air filters are hard to get to work on these motorcycles. I have been checking for vacuum leaks and I do not believe that there are any. The boots are all new and sealed properly. I do not know if the previous owner re-jetted the carbs when he put the straight pipes and pod air filters on. Is there a way I can check the jet sizes that are currently in the carbs? What jet sizes would be recommended for the set up that I have? I am looking for any and all help. Like I said I am new to the cb750 and I want to learn. I am in college and would like to make this a permanent hobby of mine. I know that there are already threads on this stuff but I have not found any on bikes that are specifically like mine. please bare with me I am new to this forum.
PLEASE HELP!!
Thanks,
Matt

Last edited: