• Enter the April CB750 Supply gift certificate giveaway! It's easy... Click here, post something, and you're entered into the drawing!

Engine noise/knock??

PharmD750

CB750 Member
Reaction score
So I recently bought a 78 CB750K and changed the oil and filled it up with 93oct gas since it hadn't been run in quite a while. I have zero experience with older bikes, but to me the engine does not sound totally right. I don't know if there is some sort of knocking going on in the motor or if that is just how these older motors sound. I tried getting the valve covers off this afternoon without too much luck. Most of the valve cover bolts came off easy but 3 are being really stubborn and I did not want to risk stripping them since I don't have access to a lot of specialty tools. I am going to try and post a video of the motor running shortly once I get everything back together. I am also going to see if I can see anything through the valve cover inspection holes. I rode the bike around the other day (about 4 miles) and it doesn't seem to lack any power and the noise doesn't get louder as I give more throttle. Sometimes when I give it a lot of throttle the motor chokes out, not sure what that could be either. Hopefully someones got some ideas for me. Thanks in advance!

Ok so I had to put it on youtube... not really sure if you can hear what I am trying to get you to hear but its worth a shot. The first time it dies is when I tried to rev the motor...

Also I took the gas tank off before this and noticed this bolt sitting inside a hose that comes from the carb. Can anyone tell me why this might have been there or what that hose is for? Looks like a breather of some sort. Thanks for your input!

Unknown bolt on carb.jpg

I also drove it and it has, from what I can tell, all of its power. It is definitely faster than what I expected it to be when I bought it last Sunday.