• Enter the March CB750 Supply gift certificate giveaway! It's easy... Click here, post something, and you're entered into the drawing!

Clutch pack adjustment

Whats_up_DOHC

CB750 Member
Reaction score
Hey folks, I got this little problem here : I want to adjust the clutch pack on my 1980 cb750 (there's too much freeplay on the gearshift selector) but I have to get pass this damn bolt here. I'm not a pro mechanic if you know what I mean, I'm just getting started (its my first bike actually).

Is there a special tool or something that is made to unscrew it?

Here's a little picture for you.

Thanks for the help !!

Attachments

• IMG-20130823-00741.jpg
    IMG-20130823-00741.jpg
    236.1 KB · Views: 387
Try using the handle of the spanner.

If you have the stock tool kit, the end of the wrench that fits the nuts on the axles is a giant curved end screwdriver. If you don't have it then don't try using a big flat head screwdriver, you'll chew up the cap.

You can make the tool out of some 1" x 3/16" metal stock. A 6" long peice of stainless works great. Grind the end of it until you get the best fit you can (note it will be curved on the end, not flat, and slightly tapered on both sides) and then you can use a crescent to turn that.

eureka

I looked 3 days for info on this....it's the lifter cover "cap" which is a mystery to all search engines apparently-the service manual says take it off to adjust the clutch, but does not say how....I used the lock bar from my rollaway tool box....worked great with cresent wrench applied....still may have to disassemble clutch as it is way too tight.....I think...

Last edited: