• Enter the April CB750 Supply gift certificate giveaway! It's easy... Click here, post something, and you're entered into the drawing!

Newbie here, going to check out an '80 cb750k tomorrow.

nickajeglin

CB750 Member
Reaction score
Hey all, my name is Nick. I've been riding a vt750c all summer, and I'm looking to trade up. A store down the street from me has a 1980 cb750k out on the sidewalk, and I walked by to look it over, but the guy who was there said that I'd have to talk to the owner tomorrow.

The story is that an old friend had a stroke a while back blah blah blabh... been in a barn for 5 years, blah blah, put aircraft fuel in to store it, etc.

It does look really really clean from what I can tell, zero rust in the tank, Oil looks and smells pristine, but they could have changed it. No rust visible anywhere, not even on what appears to be aftermarket 4-2 exhaust, no exhaust leaks, no smoke on startup, zero rust on chain, or back sprocket, and back sprocket looks pretty nice from what I can tell.

I guess I'm looking for advice on what it's worth, and whether it would be worth buying, what else I should check out tomorrow, and what I'd need to look out for if I did buy it.

It's listed at 1800 cash or 2400 trade, and I'm planning on trying to trade him my vt, it's not in great shape, but it runs pretty well. I can't spend more than 1000$ says the wife, but if I can talk him down to less than that + the vt does this look worthwhile to you guys?

Well, I bought it. Drove it home, and it seemed to run well. A lot of valve noise compared to my vt, but I imagine that's probably normal since it's got the cams right up under the tank.